Join Today
1:34 AM |
Weather Icon 72°
Join Today

News & Press Releases

1:34 AM |
Weather Icon 72°

Twin Falls Area Chamber of Commerce Welcomes New Directors and Recognizes Business Award Winners at Annual Meeting

TFchamber 02/24/20

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                 FEBRUARY 24, 2020


Twin Falls Area Chamber of Commerce Welcomes New Directors

and Recognizes Business Award Winners at Annual Meeting


The Twin Falls Area Chamber of Commerce held its annual meeting and awards banquet on Friday, February 21, 2020 during which it installed new members of the board of directors, recognized  outgoing board members, awarded several business awards, and distributed scholarships to students pursing a degree in agribusiness.


The more than 825 member businesses of the Twin Falls Area Chamber of Commerce make up a non-profit organization providing a strong business voice, vision and focused leadership to enhance the economic vitality and quality of place in our community.


New directors elected to the Chamber’s board are: Clint Carter, PMT; Senate Eskridge, SimplicIT Technical Solutions; Grayson Stone, TKO Commercial; and Kyli Gough, St. Luke’s. Outgoing board members completing their terms on the board of directors are: Jared VanderKooi, Reeder Flying Service; Robin Stanhope, Desert Sun Travel; Mason Harper, Nu Vu Glass; and Michelle Bartlome, St. Luke’s.


Awards were presented to:

Andy Hohweiler, The Scoular Company, Chamber Volunteer of the Year. Andy was instrumental in establishing the Magic Valley Young Professionals as a committee of the Chamber in 2019. The group engages newcomers and up-and-coming leaders in their professions to foster relationship building, leadership and professional development, and civic engagement among young professionals in the Twin Falls area.


Robin Stanhope, Desert Sun Travel, Ambassador of the Year. Robin has served as a member of the Ambassador committee for many years, welcoming new businesses and members and representing the chamber at ribbon cuttings, ground breakings, and other recognition events. She developed an on-boarding program to engage new Chamber members and also served on the Chamber board for the past three years.


The Fillmore Inn, Rookie of the Year. The company and its owner Denise Johnson are recognized for their active participation in Chamber and community activities in their first year of membership. The Tudor style bed and breakfast in the heart of Twin Falls offers a unique and niche market to offer to visitors to the area.


Milner’s Gate, Rookie of the Year. The business is recognized for its opening in 2019 as part of the renaissance in Historic Downtown Twin Falls. The renovation of the Elk’s Building helps to preserve the community’s heritage while utilizing historic spaces for forward-thinking business needs. Milner’s Gate commemorates the community’s agricultural and irrigation roots while appealing to a wide variety of food and beverage desires.


Jensen Jewelers, Curtis T. Eaton Award. The Curtis T. Eaton award is named in honor of Mr. Eaton who served as the President of the Twin Falls Bank and Trust. He and the bank were well-liked, well-respected, and dedicated to the success of employees, customers, and community. It’s in that spirit of support for our area’s economic vitality and quality of life that the award is presented to Jensen Jewelers. Established in 1956 in Twin Falls, the company has grown to include 15 stores across four states. Beyond their financial success as a company, Jensen Jewelers in engaged in the communities in which they operate as frequent sponsors and donors to non-profit organizations and causes and spearheading community activities, such as the annual Twin Falls Tonight concert series. Their plaque states: “In celebration of business success, support of employees, strong community ties, leadership in community involvement, and exemplary service to your customers – starting life’s adventures since 1956!”


The Chamber’s Agribusiness Committee announced four recipients of scholarships at the banquet. Over the past twenty-seven years, more than $165,000 has been contributed by the local business community to be awarded as scholarships to students pursuing degrees in Agribusiness at Idaho Colleges and Universities. Members of the Agribusiness Committee accepted applications from students which included an essay on the topic “What is the future of technology in agriculture?” The topic generated interesting and informative discussions including genomics, drones, sensor technology, and electronic devices for farming, livestock production, and in the agricultural processing industry. The Agribusiness Committee is dedicated to recognizing the significant contribution that agriculture makes to our local economy.


Scholarship recipients are:

  • Alyssa Hansten, a graduate of Jerome High School currently a Freshman studying Biological Engineering at the University of Idaho.
  • Gretchen Hansten, a graduate of Jerome High School currently a Junior studying Animal and Veterinary Science at the University of Idaho.
  • Hadley Kimball, a graduate of Jerome High School and the College of Southern Idaho currently a Junior studying Pre-Vet at the University of Idaho.
  • Narcisse Mubibya, a senior at Canyon Ridge High School who will graduate in May 2020 and plans to pursue studies in agriculture at the College of Southern Idaho or the University of Idaho.


 For more information, contact Shawn Barigar, President & CEO, Twin Falls Area Chamber of Commerce at 208-733-3974 or email shawn@twinfallschamber.com